A brief overview of the Walther LP53 variants.

A place to discuss and share pictures, reviews, of your pistols.
Leonardj
Marksman
Marksman
A brief overview of the Walther LP53 variants.

Post by Leonardj » Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:14 am

I have been researching the Walther LP53 air pistol for a great many years, and have been attempting to sort out the known variants that have occurred over the course of production of this unique air pistol. I have divided the known variants into five groups, and will describe the different features used to define each of these variant groups.

Variant #1
This particular group has only come to light within the past 18 or so months, because prior to any pictures of the very early serial numbered guns turning up. nothing was really known of the difference between these very early guns, and those that fall into the Variant #2 group. First variant guns have a number of differences over the later guns, but the most obvious is the markings on the side of the receiver. The three earliest guns known have machined markings, whereas, by S/N 002xxx, these markings are stamped. A few more of the differences can be seen in detail in an earlier post:
http://capa.myfreeforum.org/about196.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Variant #2
The second variant guns appear similar to the first variant guns, but a number of engineering changes have taken place. (Refer again to the thread noted above) The smooth receiver, and high gloss finish on both the alloy parts and the blued steel parts remain. The Walther markings are now stamped into the side of the receiver. The box dimensions have been altered to the size most commonly seen for the LP53.

Variant #2, Sub Variant 1