New guy with Webley questions please

A place to discuss all things Webley. As this is probably the most collected airgun maker we felt it deserved a section of its own.
Arv
New guy with Webley questions please

Post by Arv » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:04 am

Hi all my names is Arv, I'm new to pistols, and have never used one,  I have a few questions I would hope to get answered on here before I make my choice and buy my first pistol.
Webley tempest looks nice but is it accurate enough for say your bench rest comps?
Does the webley Alecto out perform the tempest with regards to acuracy and trigger?

Out of the two which one would you buy and why, or for the money is there something better?

I must apologise for so many questions but this forum looked like the place to ask, so here I am
8)

mitchell301
Plinker
Plinker

Post by mitchell301 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:43 am

Hello.. Webley would be good for benchrest comp... not sure if Alecto qualifies as its fairly new. Mods will advise you better than I.
Alecto will have the greater accuracy and trigger, but Webley has a nice sweet trigger.
Would I buy an Alecto?.... not even if it was a gift! lol... sorry, I dont feel that the Alecto is my type of pistol personlly. I'll probably receive a torrent of abuse for saying that. I do have 3 other types of SSP, so this type of propulsion MSP is ok with me. However having said that, an Alecto does have the qualities that many others prefer.
Why not get one, and the other later on.
There are many alternatives out there, and I'm sure other members will advise you of their preferences.
Welcome.
illegitimi non-carborundum descenda

Ian
Sharpshooter
Sharpshooter

Post by Ian » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:30 am

Hi there.

The Tempest would certainly fit into the catagory of 'classic' where as the Alecto is a comparitively recent model.

Ive owned a number of Tempests and for a brief period an Alecto so this is my view.