Refinishing a Stock - 1 - Removing the Old Finish

A place to share your projects, technical advice. and tutorials
Tank
Pistoleer
Pistoleer
Refinishing a Stock - 1 - Removing the Old Finish

Post by Tank » Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:39 pm

I have been prompted to write this as I am often asked how I achieve a good finish on an old stock and I see a great deal of mis-information on wood finishing and frankly, some downright bad advice. I have thirty two years of wood finishing experience so I am almost getting it right now! I have been fortunate enough to have worked with some of the very best.
Refinishing a wood stock is pretty straightforward, it is not like a repair or a retouch or - God forbid - a re-colour over the top of the original finish. Even if you are going to repaint the stock in exotic Camouflage I would suggest you follow the first part of the tutorial - removing the old finish.
Right, this is the procedure broken down
1) remove the old finish
2) prepare the stock for refinishing
3) applying the stain (you can skip this step if you are leaving it natural)
4) applying the finish
5) detailing the stock

The first part will deal with step one, removing the finish. There is a great deal of bunkum covering this first part and really it is very simple, should take you no more than half an hour and be immediately ready to work on. In the "olden days" we had Nitromors, sadly today's version bears no resemblance. It is "safe" - read - "useless"! Okay, it will do the job, cost a fortune and you will end up with a stock that is thoroughly soaked through. Why anyone would want to take a perfectly good, dry, stable stock and then soak it with water is beyond me.