Shooting thru Injuries & Senior years

A place for anything general gun related, if there isn't already an appropriate sub forum.
zunmik
Pistoleer
Pistoleer
Shooting thru Injuries & Senior years

Post by zunmik » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:02 pm

I've been battling Age/Injury problems since 1997 when i found i had brittle bones in my neck & had to give up F/T. However you can still shoot
i moved on to 10mtr rifle the heads up stance did not bother my neck then.
In later years injury problems with my back forced another change on to 10mtr pistol in 2001 where all went well until a severe shoulder injury also stopped that, but if you get problems to "Dont Give Up" prolonged physio & daily exercises can as in my case restore some ability to shoot, I am now shooting bell target using light or suitably balanced/weighted rifles it ain't easy as i've not shot rifle for many years, but i'm getting their, and hope to be competitive soon.
The reason i'm writing this boring twaddle is that i think i have found a way to shoot pistol freehand too. I applied the same principles that i have used with rifles lighter or well balanced guns, but with well weighted barrels to stop excessive wandering on target & a "light" trigger.
I have 3 Compact pistols so used one, these are to light to start with so always need weights i then added an extra 20 grm lightened the trigger
more than i used to & after a short period i'm holding the pistol ok & am scoring back in the tenring :)  so if you get injury or age related problems
experiment, M
WALTHER LP3],Etc[/b], G0JVB ex G6MUI.

Ian
Sharpshooter
Sharpshooter

Post by Ian » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:40 pm

Absolutely - you have to keep going

Despite being a mere youngster in my mid 50's I have arthritis with associated joint problems and nerve damage down my right arm from an accident 12 years ago

I find pistols ideal as if necessary I can shoot left handed or two handed and they are in the main vary light and compact things